Castroneves leads Penske march at Road America qualifying

Pagenaud is second with 345, Road America pole sitter Castroneves third at 342, Indianapolis 500 victor Takuma Sato fourth with 323 and Newgarden fifth at 318.Points leader Scott Dixon will start fifth, with Graham Rahal sixth.Dixon took the victory lap, finishing off a day that started with fuel pressure issues during warmups.Dixon, a four-time season champion, won his 41st career IndyCar race and first since last September at Watkins Glen.Two more Penske drivers will start in the second row after Josef Newgarden finished third and Simon Pagenaud came in fourth. Until that point, Newgarden thought he might have had an edge with Dixon on tires. He also serves as Dixon’s strategist.”Stinks a little bit we didn’t get the win but we ran well”, Newgarden said.Hull interrupted a post-race interview with Dixon just long enough to give the driver a celebratory hug. “We were joking that to do that with Chip is even more unbelievable”. Kanaan walked away with a sore wrist. Kanaan said Rossi moved over on him, and the contact between them broke Kanaan’s left front wing.Earlier this month at Texas, Rossi spun and made hard contact with the wall after getting pinched between Dixon and Kanaan, and Rossi’s vehicle bounced off both the Ganassi cars while coming off the backstretch on lap 37.The 36-year-old Kiwi boosted his lead in the drivers’ standings with 379 points, moving from 13 to 34 points clear of Pagenaud with Castroneves third, falling from 20 to 37 points back.Indy 500 victor Takuma Sato’s weekend of struggles with his Andretti vehicle continued, and will roll off 20, ahead of only the struggling Conor Daly. He finished 19th, unable to recover after his No. 26 Honda hit the wall coming out of turn 11.”Ron Ruzewski, who called (Juan Pablo) Montoya’s races (at Indianapolis in May), is also in Helio’s pit”, Cindric said.Barring Hélio Castroneves’ breaking his three-year winless streak or another Ryan Hunter-Reay Iowa upset, it seems that IndyCar’s contender pool has made itself fully known with seven races remaining on the schedule. Newgarden is the defending champion at the almost mile-long track. Fast facts: Power’s last victory tied him with Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy for ninth on the all-time list.