Perth Scorchers claim Big Bash title

PERTH: Shaun Marsh shock return from injury helped power the Perth Scorchers for a victory of 39 runs over the Hobart Hurricanes in Big Bash League final at the WACA Ground which ended a title drought of 10 years for West Australian cricket.

WACA ground saw the last piece of silverware in 2003/04 when the Warriors won the one-day title. After the Test tour of South Africa, 30 years old Marsh was deemed too risky to take on when he injured his calf. However, he showed his national selectors they should have stuck by him, when the left handed batsman contributed with an unbeaten score of 63 off 43 balls in the Scorchers’ score of 191 for four wickets.

The shock of the tournament was produced by Hobarts when they beat the Melbourne Stars in the semi-finals. They also made a strong start to the final when they restricted Perth to 15 runs after four overs and 1 wicket. But from there onwards, Hobart’s bowlers were thrashed with Dimitri Mascarenhas (1-46), Doug Bollinger (0-38) and Cameron Boyce (0-39) all there to feel the pain.

In response to the formidable score, Hurricanes were restricted to 152 runs over the loss of seven wickets despite the efforts of skipper George Bailey who cracked 58 off 32 balls. Perth has lost the past two Big Bash finals at the WACA, but as they say, the third time’s the charm. Scorchers were backed by Shaun Marsh, Craig Simmons (45 off 36 balls) and Mitch Marsh (37 off 12).

Evergreen spinner Brad Hogg damaged the batting line of Hobarts, taking 2 wickets in his four overs off 17 runs ensuring the crowd of 20,783 went home happy. Hog said it was a great win for them as they did not want to lose it for three years in a row.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *